Sign In Forgot Password


Brotherhood is one of the primary fundraising and “fun-raising” arms of Temple Avodat Shalom. The funds generated by Brotherhood dues and projects help underwrite and support numerous Temple activities and social action efforts. The “fun” generated by Brotherhood nurtures strong camaraderie and the acquisition of lifelong friends.


Brotherhood's inspired programs and projects benefit the men of Temple Avodat Shalom and contribute to the greater good of our congregation and community. Ideas from members new and old are always encouraged. To become more involved with Brotherhood, email Or simply come on down to any event and introduce yourself – you will be instantly welcomed to the Brotherhood family.


Temple Avodat Shalom’s Brotherhood provides numerous social and cultural opportunities for our congregation, and assists with holiday celebrations throughout the year. A sampling of the programs that our Brotherhood volunteers routinely host or participate in are listed below.  For event details, visit the Calendar at /events.

  • Brotherhood Card Night - 1st Monday of the month (moved if falls on a holiday, check calendar to confirm)
  • High Holiday Chair Set up 
  • High Holiday Ushering (Rosh Hashanna) 
  • High Holiday Ushering (Yom Kippur) 
  • High Holiday Chair Breakdown 
  • Sukkah Construction Party 
  • Steak in the Sukkah 
  • Sukkah Removal – 
  • Brotherhood-led Shabbat Services - December 13, 2019
  • Latke Throwdown Open Mic – December 21, 2019  REGISTER HERE 
  • Jewpardy - February 2, 2020 @ 9:30am  REGISTER HERE 
  • Brotherhood Comedy Night - March 14, 2020 REGISTER HERE 
  • Walk MS - April 26, 2020 REGISTER HERE 
  • Brotherhood End of Year BBQ 

Brotherhood Board 2019-2020

  • Michael Edelstein - President
  • Howard Adler - Vice President
  • Ed Calem - Finance Vice President
  • David Greenfield - Finance Secretary/Past President
  • Andy Lieb - Publicity Chair
  • Mario Caveda - Immediate Past President
  • Marc Hermann - Past President
  • Dan Schulman - Past President
  • Steve Berman - Past President
  • Jonathan Rochlin - Past President
  • Steve Cohen - Trustee
  • Eric Goldfarb - Trustee
  • Seth Kadesh - Trustee
  • Andy Katz - Trustee
  • David Levy - Trustee
  • Mitch Light - Trustee
  • Joel Rosenblatt - Trustee
Tue, June 22 2021 12 Tammuz 5781