Sign In Forgot Password

Sisterhood

WHO WE ARE

The Sisterhood of Temple Avodat Shalom strives to unite the women of our temple community through spirituality, education, fundraising, social events, community service and support of Reform Judaism.  We are a diverse group of women who draw strength from each other in our commitment toward Jewish ideals.

HOW WE SERVE OUR COMMUNITY

Sisterhood prepares the Friday night onegs, provides shiva and simcha meals to families, sends holiday gifts to our college students, supports our youth through Jewish experience and camp scholarships.

COME JOIN US AT ONE OF OUR EVENTS

First Day of Religious School, Meet and Greet our New Rabbi Jim Stoloff - Sunday, September 8, 2019 - 9:30 am
BBQ in Van Saun Park after Religious School - Sunday, September 8, 2019
Board Meeting - Sunday, September 15, 2019 - 9:30 am
Sukkah Event - Tuesday, October 15, 2019 - 7:30 pm
Bingo - Wednesday, October 23, 2019 - 7:00 - 8:30 pm
Board Meeting - Wednesday, October 30, 2019 - 8:00 pm
Welcome Dinner - Thursday, November 14, 2019 - 7:00 pm
Board Meeting - Sunday, November 24, 2019 -  9:30 am
Fall Book Club 
Fall Educational Event
Mah Jongg - Tuesday, December 10, 2019 - 7:00 pm 
Latke Throwdown - with Brotherhood - Saturday, December 21, 2019 -  7:00 pm
Board Meeting - Wednesday, January 8, 2020 -  8:00 pm
Sisterhood Service and Dinner - Friday, January 10, 2020 -  8:00 pm
Bingo - Sunday, January 12. 2020 -  9:30 am    Register Here
Mah Jongg - Tuesday, January 21, 2020 -  7:00 pm
Board Meeting - Wednesday, February 12, 2020 - 8:00 pm
Lunch and Learn - Saturday, February 22, 2020 - Immediately following services
Purim Party - Saturday, February 29, 2020 - 7:00 pm      Register Here 
Winter Book Club
Winter Educational Event
Sisterhood Breakfast - Sunday, March 15, 2020 - 9:30 am
Board Meeting - Sunday, March 22, 2020 - 10:30 am
Women's Seder - Wednesday, March 25, 2020 - 7:00 pm
Mah Jongg - Tuesday, March 31, 2020 7:00 pm
Board Meeting - Wednesday, April 22, 2020 - 8:00 pm
Mah Jongg - Tueday, April 26, 2020 - 7:00 pm
Mah Jongg Refresher - 
Mahj Madness - Sunday, May 3, 2020 - 9:30 am-12:00 pm
Board Meeting - Wednesday, May 6, 2020 - 8:00 pm
Ladies Night Out - Tuesday, May 14, 2020 - 7:00 pm
Spring Book Club
Spring Educational Event
Restaurant Night
Spring Bingo
 
 

Sisterhood Board 2019-2020

  • Co-President - Liz Dunkelman
  • Co-President - Cassy Kadesh
  • Executive Vice President - Margie Gelbwasser
  • Treasurer - Lisa Nelson-Cohen
  • Membership VP - Pam Edelstein
  • Recording Secretary - Joan Kaplan
  • Education VP - Dara Garcia
  • Corresponding Secretary - Gilda Rabinowitz
  • Representative to the Board - Ellen Schultz
  • Immediate Past President - Barbara Starr 
  • Immediate Past President - Cheryl Jaffe
  • Past President - Lisa Cohen
  • Trustee - Bethlee Potolsky
  • Trustee - Jaki Raider
  • Trustee - Sharon Sagerman
  • Trustee - Ellen Berman

Questions, Comments or Ideas?  We would love to hear from you.

Co-Presidents - Liz Dunkelman and Cassy Kadesh
                        sisterhood@avodatshalom.net

Sun, April 5 2020 11 Nisan 5780